GEORGE-LITTLE ROCK COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES

The George-Little Rock Board of Education met for a special board meeting on Wednesday, April 9, 2025, in the community room in the GLR central office building in George. President Austin Lloyd called the meeting to order at 5:30 pm with the Pledge of Allegiance. Board members present were Austin Lloyd, Jason Fugitt, Matt Mitchell, and Andrea Johnson. Andrew Sprock was unable to join. Also in attendance were Superintendent Amanda Miller (joining electronically), School Business Official and Board Secretary Treasurer Cathy Bonestroo, Principal Karie Aeikens, and guests Miranda Dreesen and Dustin Opatz with BerganKDV (joining electronically).

A quorum was established. No public comment requests were filed, so no comments received.

A motion to adopt the agenda was made by Mitchell, seconded by Johnson, and carried 4-0.

Dustin Opatz with BerganKDV presented the 2023-2024 audit. The district's finances are healthy with 5 months reserve fund balance with a steady tax rate. Nutrition fund awareness with surplus decreasing and now back into normal years compared to past years with meals covered with federal funds.

The 2025-2026 proposed budget power point was presented by Bonestroo. Property tax rates and area tax rates were shared for comparisons. Annual budget process was shared with budget prep starting in November with difference this year as projects are unknown until receipt of facility assessment. Nutrition account awareness was shared for potential budget adjustment due to more equipment purchases after the original budget was submitted. Enrollment drives the budget with student loss and significant impact of 40+ student decrease along with open enrollment financial impact of almost \$320,000. Financial plan is a solid plan for sustainability and managing by attrition when possible noting the difference the next few years with decreased federal revenue with the main goal of balancing financial stability and program opportunities for students. Categorical (restricted) funds and spending authority impact were also reviewed. Different funds, sources of revenues, and allowable uses were also reviewed.

The tentative agreement with the union for teacher increases was presented with an updated salary schedule. Tier I (0-11 years experience) \$2500 salary schedule increase and Tier II (12-19 years experience) \$2000 salary schedule increase except 12 years experience with \$12,300 increase moving to the new state minimums with Tier III (20+ years experience) adding \$1300 to the salary schedule. Teachers would also receive the \$200 increase for advancing years, resulting in Tier I \$2700 wage increase, Tier II \$2200 increase except 12 years experience receiving \$12,300 increase, and Tier III wage increase of \$1500. Amended master contract with the new salary schedule, licensed staff handbook with Schedule B extra duties clarifications, master contracts (teacher contracts) and teacher extra duty contracts were presented. LCRF grants were presented. Resignations were presented for Brian Luenberger, head boys basketball coach; and Angie Sewell, teacher librarian. Recommendation for hire presented was Julia Storm, MSHS language arts at \$50,400 with additional interviews for 2nd MSHS language arts position.

A motion to approve the consent agenda was made by Mitchell, seconded by Fugitt, and carried 4-0. Consent agenda included approval of 2023-2024 audit, ratification of 25-26 certified staff increases and base wage increase, amended 25-26 master contract agreement, 2025-2026 licensed staff increase, 25-26 coaching extra duty teacher contracts, LCRF grants, resignations, and recommendations for hire as presented.

A motion to move into closed session pursuant to Iowa Code Section 21.5 (1) (c) to discuss strategy with counsel in matters that are presently in litigation or where litigation is imminent where its disclosure would be likely to prejudice or disadvantage the position of the governmental body in that litigation was made at 6:20 pm by Fugitt, seconded by Mitchell. Roll call vote was taken with Lloyd, Mitchell, Sprock, and Johnson all ayes, no nays, motion carried 4-0. Aeikens, and Kats left the meeting.

A motion to return to open session was made at 7:15 pm by Mitchell, seconded by Fugitt. Roll call vote was taken with Lloyd, Mitchell, Sprock, and Johnson all ayes, no nays, motion carried 4-0.

A motion to adjourn at 7:16 pm was made by Fugitt, seconded by Mitchell, and carried 4-0.