GEORGE-LITTLE ROCK COMMUNITY SCHOOL

BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES

The George-Little Rock Board of Education met for the annual board meeting on Monday, November 25, 2024, in the community meeting room in the GLR central office building in George. President Austin Lloyd called the meeting to order at 5:30 pm with the Pledge of Allegiance. Board members present were Austin Lloyd, Andrew Sprock, Jason Fugitt, and Matt Mitchell. Andrea Johnson was unable to attend. Also in attendance were Superintendent Amanda Miller, School Business Official and Board Secretary Treasurer Cathy Bonestroo, Principal and Activities Director Tyler Glanzer, Principal Karie Aeikens, and guests Jason Eygabroad with Beck Engineering, Ava Bonestroo, Aspen Kanengieter, Kim Dykstra, and Valecia West.

A quorum was established. No public comment requests were filed, so no comments received.

A motion to approve the agenda was made by Mitchell, seconded by Fugitt, and carried 4-0.

Senior privilege request was made by class representatives Aspen Kanengieter and Ava Bonestroo sharing what senior privileges entail and the understanding of eligibility requirements. Both left the meeting after the request was made.

A motion to approve the 2023-2024 financial books and annual reports was made by Fugitt, seconded by Sprock, and carried 4-0.

A motion to adjourn was made at 5:35pm by Sprock, seconded by Fugitt, and carried 4-0

GEORGE-LITTLE ROCK COMMUNITY SCHOOL

BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES

The George-Little Rock Board of Education met for the organizational board meeting on Monday, November 25, 2024, in the community meeting room in the GLR central office building in George. President Austin Lloyd called the meeting to order at 5:35 pm following the annual meeting. Board members present were Austin Lloyd, Andrew Sprock, Jason Fugitt, and Matt Mitchell. Andrea Johnson was unable to attend. Also in attendance were Superintendent Amanda Miller, School Business Official and Board Secretary Treasurer Cathy Bonestroo, Principal and Activities Director Tyler Glanzer, Principal Karie Aeikens, and guests Jason Eygabroad with Beck Engineering, Kim Dykstra, and Valecia West.

A quorum was established.

A motion to approve the agenda was made by Mitchell, seconded by Fugitt, and carried 4-0.

A motion to nominate Austin Lloyd as president was made by Fugitt, seconded by Mitchell. Roll call vote was taken with Fugitt, Mitchell, and Sprock all ayes, no nays, motion carried 3-0 with Lloyd abstaining.

A motion to nominate Jason Fugitt as vice-president was made by Lloyd, seconded by Mitchell. Roll call vote was taken with Lloyd, Mitchell, and Sprock all ayes, no nays, motion carried 3-0 with Fugitt abstaining. Bonestroo gave the oath of office to President Lloyd and Vice-President Fugitt.

A motion to nominate Cathy Bonestroo as Treasurer Board Secretary was made by Lloyd, seconded by Fugitt. Roll call vote was taken with Lloyd, Fugitt, Mitchell, and Sprock all ayes, no nays, motion carried 4-0. Lloyd gave the oath of office to Treasurer Board Secretary Bonestroo.

A motion to continue regular board meetings on the 3rd Monday of the month at 5:30 pm rotating locations was made by Fugitt, seconded by Sprock, and carried 4-0.

A motion to approve the resolution to authorize the interim payment of bills pursuant to Policy 705.3 was made by Sprock, seconded by Fugitt, and carried 4-0.

A motion to approve the official district newspaper as *Little Rock Freelance* was made by Mitchell, seconded by Fugitt, and carried 4-0.

A motion to approve the bank depositories of Security Savings Bank, Frontier Bank, and ISJIT was made by Fugitt, seconded by Sprock, and carried 4-0.

A motion to approve the \$7,500,000 depository limit was made by Mitchell, seconded by Fugitt, and carried 4-0.

No motion for bank signature updates as not needed with no changes of officers made.

Miller presented attorney options and IASB confirmation that it is allowed to have two attorneys and historical knowledge and information transfer for the district if switch attorneys. Pros and cons were discussed with benefits of having one firm discussed and the educational law branch available with multiple attorneys at Ahlers & Cooney. A motion to approve the new legal counsel of Ahlers & Cooney from Des Moines with recovering documents from previous attorney was made by Mitchell, seconded by Sprock, and carried 4-0.

Committee structures were discussed. Operational sharing and program sharing were discussed to be combined with limited number of meetings held. SIAC committee discussed adding a board member for two representatives similar to other committees with a lot of district work needed. Program sharing and operational sharing committee will be combined committee of Fugitt and Johnson. SIAC committee will be Fugitt and Mitchell. Policy committee will be Lloyd and Johnson. Marketing committee will be Lloyd and Johnson. Finance and personnel committee will be Lloyd and Sprock. Capital projects/facilities will be Sprock and Mitchell. IASB delegate will be Lloyd. Lyon County Assessor's representative will be Fugitt. Educational Foundation representative will be Mitchell. A motion to approve committees and appointments was made by Fugitt, seconded by Sprock, and carried 4-0.

A motion to adjourn was made at 5:53 pm by Mitchell, seconded by Sprock, and carried 4-0.