GEORGE-LITTLE ROCK COMMUNITY SCHOOL

BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES

The George-Little Rock Board of Education met for a special meeting on Wednesday, May 11, 2022 in the superintendent office in the GLR administration building in George. President Austin Lloyd called the meeting to order at 5:36 pm with the Pledge of Allegiance. Board members present were Austin Lloyd, Andrew Sprock, Jason Fugitt, Andrea Johnson, and Matt Mitchell. Also in attendance were Superintendent Tom Luxford, Board Secretary/School Business Official Cathy Bonestroo and Principal Karie Aeikens.

A quorum was established. No public comment was received.

A motion to adopt the agenda was made by Sprock, seconded by Mitchell, and carried 5-0.

A motion to enter closed session under Iowa Code 21.5(1)(e) to conduct a hearing to suspend was made at 5:38 pm by Mitchell seconded by Fugitt. Roll call vote was taken with Fugitt, Mitchell, Lloyd, Sprock, and Johnson all ayes, no nays, motion carried.

A motion to return to open session was made at 7:15 pm by Fugitt, seconded by Mitchell. Roll call vote was taken with Fugitt, Mitchell, Lloyd, Sprock, and Johnson all ayes, no nays, motion carried.

A motion to approve the long-term suspension of "Student A" until appropriate counseling and psychological evaluation are presented to meet the necessary terms for classroom enrollment with a review of the suspension to take place prior to the August board meeting was made by Johnson, seconded by Fugitt. Roll call vote was taken with Fugitt, Mitchell, Lloyd, Sprock, and Johnson all ayes, no nays, motion carried.

Future board meeting dates were noted with operational sharing and finance meeting dates needing to be determined.

A motion to adjourn at 7:17 pm was made by Fugitt, seconded by Johnson, and carried 5-0.