GEORGE-LITTLE ROCK COMMUNITY SCHOOL

BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES

The George-Little Rock Board of Education met for the annual meeting on Monday, November 22, 2021 in the superintendent office in the GLR district building in George. Board President Kristi Landis called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm with the Pledge of Allegiance. Board members present were Kristi Landis, Andrew Sprock, Wade Netten, Austin Lloyd, and Jason Fugitt. Also in attendance were Superintendent Tom Luxford, Board Secretary/School Business Official Cathy Bonestroo, Principal/Activities Director Tyler Glanzer, Principal Karie Aeikens, and guests Andrea Johnson, Valecia West, Jeff Kruger, Max DeBoer, Wyatt Peters, Sean Dykstra, Tyler Greve, Mason Koster, Cody Ayers, and Sydni Mauldin.

A quorum was established. President Landis opened the meeting for public comment. No public comment request forms were submitted, and no public comment received.

A motion to adopt the agenda was made by Netten, seconded by Lloyd, and carried 5-0.

Building Trades 1 class presented on a proposed class project for garden sheds to be built and sold to the public to raise funds for tools for the shop. Trades field importance for real world experience and application was noted. Proposed costs were presented. Anticipated timeframe would be 3 sheds for the 19 students anticipating 1½ months to complete frame excluding siding, roofing, and doors in order to meet customer design wants with 2½ to 3 months for the total project. Marketing plan to get it out for sales was discussed through Facebook, city websites, lumber yard, and local papers. Set price vs auctioning was discussed with anticipating a set price for costs plus extra to build program. Mr. Luxford shared the sheds will likely be pre-sold. The board expressed their thanks for the presentation.

Sydni Mauldin represented the senior class to request senior class privileges with 1 period off in the morning or afternoon with change noted from 2 periods to 1 period from previous year's privileges. Netten asked when the privileges were changed with Glanzer noting this year with main reason noted for easier tracking. The board expressed their thanks for presenting.

A motion to accept the 2020-2021 financial reports was made by Netten, seconded by Sprock, and carried 5-0.

Bonestroo presented the canvas of votes from the November election. Kristi Landis received 337 votes with 1 scattering vote for a total of 338 votes in Lyon County and 2 votes in Osceola County to be elected to the GLR director for District 3 for a 4-year term. Andrea Johnson received 349 votes with 3 scattering votes for a total of 352 votes in Lyon County and 2 votes in Osceola County to be elected to the GLR director for District 2 for a 4-year term. A motion to accept the canvass of votes was made by Lloyd, seconded by Netten, and carried 5-0.

Wade Netten was recognized as retiring board member and was presented with a lifetime pass and plaque for his 8 years of board service. Netten thanked the past and present board members and recognized the many transitions and changes made for the district and the students noting sometimes tough decisions but at the end of the day board's focus is what's best for the district and the students. Netten thanked teachers and administrators for all their commitment and reminded everyone to stay the course with the district on the right path to make improvements and wishes everyone the best.

A motion to adjourn at 6:22 pm was made by Netten, seconded by Fugitt, and carried 5-0.